Mercy means to enter into another's suffering. It comes from the same word that's translated as wretched. Through mercy, we enter into someone's wretchedness, we have pity on them, we have compassion and pity for them.

Jesus was not only a wise teacher, bring us to our full humanity, he was also our brother. He cared for the bodily needs of his neighbors. While we can teach our doctrine faithfully, we must also be sure to supply was is necessary to our fellow man.

Combined, these seven acts represent every physical need and human dignity that someone deserves filled. Examine yourself to determine if you are fully engaging in these acts of love.

Seven corporal acts of mercy

Feed the hungry

Give drink to the thirsty

Shelter the homeless

Visit the sick

Visit the prisoners

Bury the dead

Give alms to the poor